The annual event celebrated the efforts and dedication of staff who go above and beyond in their teaching and support roles.

On Thursday (May 4) officers from the Students' Union presented the awards in front of an audience of 60 people.

All nominees and teaching staff were praised for their efforts with students acknowledging their hard work and commitment.  

The presentation was a lively event with laughter and camaraderie throughout the ceremony.

One of the biggest roars from the audience came when lecturer Barry Woolnough was awarded Most Enthusiastic Staff Member. In a moving acceptance speech, he praised his students and dedicated the award to them.

Georgina Evans, Lecturer in Digital Skills, Employability & Personal Development was awarded Staff Member of the Year and was thrilled with the award. She said: “I feel really humble to have won and can honestly say shocked. I am lucky enough to teach such a kind and thoughtful bunch of students who have taken to time to nominate me.”

She added: “I like to think that I treat my students as individuals and encourage them to take control of their own learning, by giving them the support and tools to do so. Other than that I am just myself and really want each and every one on of my students to succeed.”

The winners of the awards were as follows:

Best Maths Teacher: Emma Goodacre

Best English Teacher: Marcella Cullen

Funniest Staff Member: Kristen Harvey

Most Inspiring Staff Member: Bernadette Till

Most Enthusiastic Staff Member: Barry Woolnough

Most Caring Staff Member: Sarah Ryan

Best Use of Technology in Teaching: Georgina Evans

Staff Member with Best Industry/Subject Knowledge: Melissa Mantle

Best Support Member of Staff: Rebecca Jones

Class Rep of the Year: Shem Morgan

Staff Member of the Year: Georgina Evans